Some people believe that schools should teach practical skills such as financial management, cooking and basic repairs, instead of focusing mainly on academic subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

Today some individuals argue that schools should prioritise practical skills, such as financial literacy or basic home maintenance, while others believe that academic subjects must remain the priority. In this essay I will discuss both views and provide arguments to support my opinion

It is widely acknowledged that people used to prioritize theoretical knowledge and academic achievements. The fact that society and workplaces totally relied on stability and knowledge-based economy highlights lack of attention to practical skills. Therefore, students used to spend a considerable amount of time for studying subjects and learning new information without developing their practical skills. For example people from Soviet Union believed that to have career prospects or to get a well paid job, they had study a lot.

Personally, i believe that the absence of practical skills contributes to the hiring of people for low-paid jobs because of inability to adapt and being creative. All things considered, both academic knowledge and vocational skills are equally pivotal and should be provided by educational systems.

As regards practical skills, there are many benefits to developing them. Not only do they help people to find well-paid jobs, but also cultivate all their skills in real life efficiently. In addition, today employers and the labor market value those employees who obtain some hands-on skills like: financial literacy, adaptability or developed critical skills. Therefore, the more young people develop their practical skills, the more career prospects and opportunities they have. As an example, founder of the most successful company in Russia Oleg Tinkoff says: if an employee can stay level-headed in stressful situations and be creative when indeed, success is inevitable. To sum up, I suppose that hands-on skills play a significant role in achieving success in life and having better understanding of the real world.

In conclusion, while both views have valid points, i believe that applied skills are more beneficial and better in preparing individuals for real-life challenges. Thus, schools should place greater emphasis on improving them.