Some people believe that schools should teach practical skills such as financial management, cooking and basic repairs, instead of focusing mainly on academic subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of educational materials has sparked debate, with some believing that schools should prioritize teaching practical skills rather than traditional academic subjects. In my view, schools should educate learners about different subjects, since today they have become significant due to the emergence of new trends and technologies that require deep knowledge of several topics.

Firstly, the appearance of new technologies makes the total reliance on traditional educational materials harder than in the past. This is mainly because technology, particularly AI, is increasingly expanding, as it contributes to several layoffs worldwide, especially in the tech sector. However, learning practical skills at a young age can be an unequivocal solution to face this transformation. Many employers are increasingly valuing hands-on abilities, including communication with clients. Based on several studies, although AI can carry a vital part of conversations such as customer service, clients will always want human contact, which demonstrates that AI cannot fully replace interpersonal interaction.

Secondly, schools should teach financial literacy to students in order to develop their financial literacy at a young age, as it helps them understand and build strong knowledge about finances, which is important nowadays, especially during these economic crises that the globe is facing. Mastering financial awareness will not only encourage young generations to develop a financial management mindset, but also preserve them from future crises, as many experts predict a harmful financial crisis due to inflation and economic wars. Moreover, by learning how to take financial responsibility at a young age, individuals can avoid financial risks such as debt and loans, which many people are struggling with due to their lack of financial awareness.

In conclusion, people who learn about different subjects, including digital skills and finances are more likely to live a comfortable life, since they build strong knowledge that can help them cope with complex situations, as when they were students, schools offered them wider comprehension about several aspects rather than teaching traditional subjects like math or languages.