Some people believe that schools should teach practical skills such as financial management, cooking and basic repairs, instead of focusing mainly on academic subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

Prioritizing academic education has always been the primary objective of institutes. However, many individuals believe that schools must emphasize on training life skills despite of focusing only on theoretical education. I partially agree with this opinion as educating young generation and teaching practical skill set are equally contributing to overall development of young ones.

On the one hand, it is crucial to focus on teaching subjective knowledge and give maximum information about course material. Students are required to gain this knowledge as this works as building blocks for their career pathways. Most students’ choice of higher education programs and degree subjects depends on what they interest most while schooling and how much knowledge they hold for any subject. Additionally, concentrating on studying helps youngsters in a long run. Their knowledge not only helps them to secure better opportunities but also assists them to survive at working places, perform better than colleagues, and achieve professional benchmarks easily. Thus, academic expertise is of keen importance for deciding students successful career.

On the other hand, having hands-on skills allows students to be more adjusting and adaptive when they are forced to some unfavorable circumstances. For instance, ones who work for national forces counter numerous hardships, and then the practical skills they learned during schooling helps them to survive. Moreover, training students with different everyday skills such as cooking, minor repairs, household maintenance, gardening, and digital and financial literacy can help them to choose these as a profession. It is not possible that everyone gets their desired job, but having some hands-on experience for practical skills can aid in generating self-employment.

In conclusion, both education and skill improvement are necessary to support learners to wisely choose their professional goals, sustain in respective professions, and become a successful personality.