Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

Of late, there has been a stark polarization between two sections of society where one group tends to believe that physical exertions are mandatory for children physical developments in their schooling life, while other groups thinks that it solely depends on children whether they want to keep sports in the curriculum or not. This essay will consider a possible debate on this issue before arriving at an apt conclusion.

On the one hand, those who oppose the idea of keeping physical activities as optional for students in their primary education often claim that they can focus more on their academics to secure better admissions in world class tertiary educational institutes. In otherwords, when students are not exhausted by sports, so they can increase their focus on primary subjects such as English, Science, Mathematics, and Computer and they can get their desired results at the time of final examination and also can get the offer letters from world-renowned institutes like Harvard, Stanford, and University of Toronto for their bachelors or majors.

Conversely, the proponents for supporting sports as a mandatory subject in school curricula put forward a point that having sports helps students to maintain their fitness. Take for instance, if they play badminton, they will provide good amount of exercise to their arms and wrists. Moreover, it can be said that it will make them more intelligent and will help them to solve problems in their lives. For example, children who play football or cricket develop a skill called strategy where they use this skill in their day-to-day activities or in their academics for achieving goals and this skill stays with them for long period of time.

To conclude, I strongly believe that, despite the claims made favoring keeping sports optional to get better admission in prestigious varsities, the fact remains that having sports in children’s lives will make them smarter and physically powerful.