Some people believe that students should acquire working experience during their gap year instead of traveling. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been widely debated that while some argue that students ought to work during their gap year, others claim that they should travel. I strongly believe that in this day and age students should find a part-time job rather than travel, and my reasons will be elaborated on in this essay.

To begin with, it might seem reasonable for some to believe that it is better to travel. To explain it simply, this is because this can improve students’ physical and mental health. For example, some young people who wait to enter universities can unwind and clear their mind after they have studied intensively in high school, which will have positive effects on their academic performance. From this perspective, it is understandable why some believe that it is important to travel during a gap year.

On the other hand, I would personally argue that students ought to find a job. To clarify, this is due to the fact that they can improve their skills from working with people, which can build their confidence. For instance, while they are working with people who have a deep knowledge about this job, they can improve their skills immediately, such as communication and teamwork. Therefore, those skills can shape them to be ready to study in universities in the future. In this sense, it is evident that working is better for improving personal development before attending universitires.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that travelling can provide students with an opportunity to relax and improve their mental health, I am of the opinion that nowadays students ought to find a part-time job while they are on a gap year in order to gain work experiences and improve essential skills in the long run.