Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people argue that individuals should find a job right after graduating from school, others believe that further education is necessary for a successful career. I do support the latter for several reasons.

On the one hand, some people say that starting work straight after high school is the best route for a successful career. The primary reason for that is the possibility of securing a safe job. In other words, most parents do not want to waste their money, resources, and time on the higher education of their offspring, when companies like Google, or Facebook, can accept even high school dropouts to high-salary positions. Moreover, some people, especially from poorer backgrounds, simply cannot afford to pay for their children’s higher education. To explicate, government schools are either cheap or completely free, allowing poor kids to get a secondary education. Higher education like colleges and universities, however, is indeed expensive for them and therefore their parents prefer their growing-ups to take a job rather than to continue studying.

Nonetheless, I support the second view, encouraging youngsters to consider further education. Primarily, although even high school leavers can be accepted in corporations, hiring managers usually look for an employee with a bachelor’s or master’s degree for a management position like CEO or CFO. Hence, when a candidate arrives for an interview, the initial thing they usually ask is their degree of studies. On top of that highly educated people tend to be more intelligent and experienced than those who have merely completed high school. In colleges or universities, the subjects are taught more in-depth than in schools with practical lessons conducted in companies, which allow students to gain both theoretical and practical insight into their field, resulting in a well-rounded employee in their field of studies.

In conclusion, despite the opinions about finding a job straight away after school, I thoroughly believe that to succeed in their career, younger generations must pursue further education.