Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory in high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some that voluntary work should be mandated by high schools, such as teaching the young one sporting activities or making amends to the nearby area. This essay will discuss this topic and show the benefits of being a volunteer in the community on the individual such as gaining work experience and improving social traits.

On the one hand, people who are disciplined enough to attend a daily activity will learn essential skills that they can use later in their career, for instance, teaching children how to be better in a sport or a subject will help the volunteer to sharpen his skills in that subject. This was proven to me when a group of ninth graders in my school were assigned to teach elementary mathematics to fifth graders. After finishing the course all of the teaching group gained a better understanding of the fundamental blocks of mathematics which helped them better comprehend the more advanced ideas taught in their original class.

On the other hand, volunteers train their social skills which will assist them in various areas of their life. For example, teamwork learned through cleaning a neighbourhood will become essential for most jobs that they will do. Moreover, they will learn empathy, and how to put themselves in someone else’s shoes when teaching a particular subject. In particular, they have to know what is impeding the child to understand an idea which requires from teachers to put themselves in the students’ place. That skill will be beneficial for all who will take a customer care job when they try to understand what does the customer really want.

In conclusion, making voluntary community service mandatory in schools will be beneficial no only to society, but to all partaking individuals.