Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory in high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, children should be encouraged to participate in unsalaried social services at school. Proponents argue that services, such as working for charity, neighborhood improvements, and teaching sports to younger children, need to be an obligatory part of school programs. While performing community services brings tremendous benefits to the young, I strongly disagree with making it one of the compulsory school programs.

Compulsory community services tend to put extra pressure on schoolchildren when they are added to their curriculum. In fact, children have a number of subjects, such as math, science, and chemistry, that are quite challenging and time-consuming to know from the inside out. Neighborhood development schemes or becoming a coach for other younger children, therefore, can exert an impact on their academic performance. This might lead to children losing a sense of motivation to study well. For example, statistics reveal that pupils in some Brazilian schools who were forced to join voluntary activities showed a lower level of academic achievement compared to schoolchildren who focused only on important subjects.

However, unpaid community services can benefit students in various ways. Firstly, children might gain working experience when they take part in programs designed to help the community. They tend to encounter people who can help them expand their minds. For instance, while working in charity, the young get informed about how the raised donation is reinvested to support deprived children who suffer from a shortage of basic necessities. In addition, working as a coach improves their chances of developing their teaching skills involving integration with pupils and building communication abilities.

Apart from personal growth, participating in unpaid social services undoubtedly has a positive impact on career prospects. More and more successful and flourishing companies value candidates who have contributed to the improvement of the community by helping charities and neighborhoods and offer them brilliant positions. For example, in Norway, for large technical industries, graduates who have been active in community services could be invaluable potential members of a company since they can make a huge contribution to company development.

In conclusion, applying community services as a compulsory part of school programs will undoubtedly produce positive effects, including obtaining hands-on experiences and promoting employment prospects. Even though unpaid social services have several merits, they lower children`s inspiration to study the main subjects at school, which hold more importance for their future development. In my personal viewpoint, it seems like the wrong idea to make unsalaried community service obligatory at school.