Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

It is often said that children benefit from going to boarding schools. However, this issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can be made against this idea. This essay will discuss this debate, and give a concluding idea.

On one hand, those in favor of sending youngsters to learn away from home cite the various benefits this activity can bring a child. These range from gaining discipline, to being fully immersed in the learning experience. For example, in these learning institutes, strict rules and schedules are enforced thus making pupils more obedient and helps them learn about different aspects of life. Another argument is that children gain independence from an earlier age, thus setting them up for life.

By contrast, opponents of this viewpoint argue that sending youngsters away from home at an early age is not advisable. Moreover, parents are essential keys in shaping a child’s personality and therefore need to live in close proximity to their caretakers. Examples can be seen in studies done by the University of Chicago, where children who attended boarding school had higher levels of depression and anxiety than those living with their parents.

Overall, it seems that the disadvantages of sending children to boarding schools outweigh the advantages, as this can hinder a child’s attitude and character development and might lead to worse outcomes in the future.