Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Some people believe that it is better to reside in a private house, while other individuals claim that an apartment can offer more obvious benefits to their life. Although acknowledging that residing in an apartment can present distinctive advantages, I believe that the benefits of living in a house can outweigh those of an apartment.

Granted, apartment complexes offer several advantages that bring significant benefits to residents. One of the main advantages lies in their affordability, enabling residents to sustain long-term living at a reasonable cost. It is clear that the scarcity of land acts as a catalyst for skyrocketing housing prices, making citizens struggle with financial security to afford a housing unit for their permanent living. In comparison, apartment construction maximises land-use efficiency by providing a far greater number of housing units, which helps make housing more accessible to the general public. In addition, apartment living can provide public amenities for residents. In each apartment complex, the total number of dwellers is extremely large, which helps construction planners to predict the demand for different services. As a result, it is common for residents in apartment buildings to have easy access to many entertainment, healthcare, and education facilities, helping people reduce the demand for travel that can save a lot of time and money.

Despite the aforementioned benefits of apartment residency, opting for a house yields its own set of benefits, particularly concerning privacy and personal freedom. In apartment complexes, residents live in very close proximity to each other, meaning that their walls, hallways, and even elevators are shared among public multiple individuals. This shared environment can lead to a lot of noise pollution and frequent disruptions, which can decrease the quality of life, especially among older people who typically prefer a calming living environment. Another notable benefit is the value of lông- term homeownership. It is true that the legal possession of an apartment in some areas only has a short-term value in a certain period of time compared to a private housing unit which allows individuals to obtain land ownership certificates that grant full property rights. Consequently, as land becomes increasingly scarce and its value rises over time, private houses are likely to appreciate far more significantly.

In conclusion, while apartment living offers convenience and a sense of community, the advantages of living in a house, including more space, greater freedom to customize, and the potential for long-term investment, are more compelling.