Some people said that what children watch on television influenced their behaviour, other argue that the amount of time influenced their behaviour. Dicuss both view and give your own opinion

There is an ongoing debate regarding the crucial role of television on children’s behavioural development. A group of individuals believe that the programs that children watch on television affect their behavior. However, others argue that the duration of viewing is the key factor. Therefore, ahead of my opinion, both the views will be discussed further.

Examining the former opinion, the primary argument the supporters would put forward is the importance of the TV’s programme content on children’s behavior. This is because children have a tendency to imitate what they see. As a result, a child watching inappropriate content frequently may develop bad attitudes, and they will be more irritated. Harmful content can distort children’s sense of right and wrong. In addition, they also believe that educational content can affect children’s behavior in an optimistic way, it can develop a child’s language and cognitive skills. Humanitarian programmes can teach children about kindness and sharing, children can perceive ethical values through characters appearing on the television.

On the contrary, those in favor of the latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with, they claim that watching TV for a long time can lessen children’s social interaction. Therefore, children communicate with families and friends occasionally, reducing the ability of developing social skills and children can easily live in a passive way. Moreover, the long duration of watching television influences children’s habits and well-being. Sedentariness can increase the possibility of health problems in children, such as obesity, diabete,.. Children also have less time to do their homework, leading to poor academic results.

To conclude and offer my position, there are convincing arguments both for and against what children watch and their duration of viewing can influence their behaviours and attitudes. However, I certainly favor the former opinion.