Some people said that what children watch on television influenced their behaviour, other argue that the amount of time influenced their behaviour. Dicuss both view and give your own opinion

Many people believe that how much time they spend on watching TV impacts their behaviour, whereas others think that content should be considered when their children spend time watching TV to prevent its effects on behaviour . This essay will discuss both views before presenting my own opinion.

A variety of factors lead to this issue, with excessive screen dependency being the primary reason. Firstly, we need to understand that children are easily attracted to animated shows, leading to the fact that they continue to watch TV in order to witness a turning point which plays a crucial role and contributes to the influence and popularity of TV programs. Consequently, cognitive fatigue will appear after watching TV for a long time instead of taking part in healthy recreational activities for society such as voluntary trips, social-linguistic classes, and eventually sleeping because those can help people improve physical and mental well-being and restore energy after school hours. Secondly, another reason why spending most time on TV can give rise to impact on behaviour is lack of parental involvement. A number of families encourage children to watch TV as a babysitter, considered the most convenient and time-saving solution. However, this brings short-term benefits, yet leads to long-term consequences which can develop into habits and lack of self-control to balance time. Additionally, parents’ habits can influence children’s perception about the amount of time to watch TV.

On the other hand, there are a range of phenomenal reasons for watching age-appropriate content. This can be explained by the fact that when children are immature, they need to watch role models who convey values and awareness because young people are highly impressionable by early exposure so that it will shape personality. Besides, when they are adolescents, they are still influenced by the content they watch. Thus, when the contents are properly monitored and regulated age-appropriate viewing will help children develop positive character traits. Another reason is clear supervision and guidance plays an essential part in a clever brain. If people watch meaningless content on Facebook, Tik Tok and other social media platforms, it will be restricted early because of “brain rot”. In the other words, a range of content lacks meaning, resulting in the decreasing of IQ like “brain rot”. Therefore, it is fundamental to choose beneficial channels to watch like IELTS Advantages, free IELTS class of The Forum. For example, they always engage in the internet show of celebrities like Bill Gates, Magnus Carsen and Huy Forum who can provide motivation for people to make progress in education and work.

From my perspective, the best approach is screen time and appropriate content should be carefully balanced so as to develop individual personality. This is because watching TV and participating in outdoor and physical activities can enhance both physical and mental development. Put differently, watching television to relax and activities for good well-being can improve mental clarity. In addition, age-appropriate viewing and content that children are interested in should be balanced with the aim of good character and career orientation through personal interests, which strongly motivate children to achieve desired goals.

In conclusion, although the amount of time watching television brings some negative effects, disorganizing content can have potential drawbacks. However, if those are well-organized and regulated, it might help people enhance the quality of their life and nobody falls behind. So, it is crucial before making a decision owing to personal success in the future.