Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals hold the view that advertising has a persuasive effect on us that makes people purchase things, while there is another part of people that think advertising is widely spread and does not grab anyone’s attention. I partially support the view of advertising being an ordinary part of our daily lives, but I believe advertising has an essential effect on which items are bought, specifically. I will elaborate on my arguments in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, I agree that, nowadays, most individuals tend to ignore advertisements due to their popularity. Advertisements are everywhere; this makes it impossible to pay attention to each one of them. Also, due to its frequent appearance, there is a lack of trust towards the items that are advertised. Encountering the advertisement of the same item wherever the person goes can be a drawback to some potential buyers because of the annoyance it may potentially create. On the other hand, it is true that advertising has great success in convincing people to purchase things. Due to advertisements surrounding our daily life, it affects our brain without our knowing. When we are in need of buying some kind of item, we prefer that a certain item that is advertised over other brands. Individuals tend to think that if an item is advertised, they have better quality and are more trustworthy. It is only natural for people to spend money on a thing that they see on TV, streets, and etc rather than something that they have never heard of. Furthermore, individuals cannot buy something that they are not aware of its existence. They may not realize that they need this kind of product until they see it on an advertisement. Advertisements have a crucial effect on sales and it is a key to running a business. In conclusion, while I agree that today, advertisements have become a usual thing, I would also argue that it is no longer in need. Instead, it has an invaluable part of our lives.