Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Concerns over the publics health is recognised globally. There have been opinions on how to improve the wellbeing to ensure a healthier society. Some advise that more sports facilities should be built, while others believe that this will have little effect, and other measures such as limiting processed foods and educating the public about nutrition would be far more beneficial. I agree that building more sport centres alone is not the best way to improve the general health of individuals, but rather educating them about the adverse effects of junk food.

Sport facilities are a great way to lure people into participating in outdoor activities. If more recreational centres are available to the public, more people would join a club. The reason for this is there are not many sport fields in and around communities and this will give them to opportunity to participate in sports as it is closer to their home and gives them time to socialize with their friends and other members of the community. Playing sports is not only beneficial for physical health but also for mental health, thus creating a healthier society. Sport is a fun way to get exercise and improve one’s health. However, this alone is not enough to ensure the publics health and other measures should be taken into account.

Firstly, the consumption of processed foods is the leading cause of people being unhealthy and having medical conditions. Fast foods and convenience foods are high in fat and sugar, with little or no nutritional value. More emphasis should be placed on living a healthier lifestyle through nutrition. A large number of people are unaware of the detrimental effects a bad diet has on their body, therefore educating the public, especially the youth in schools should be taught about nutrition. Additionally, a tax increase on fast foods and sugar should be put in place and healthier food should be made cheaper. If healthier food is cheaper than convenience foods, individuals will rather buy the cheaper option.

To conclude, exercise is a great way to improve performance and mental health, however, you cannot out train a bad diet. Therefore, educating the general public about nutrition as well as increasing costs on unhealthy foods will ensure a healthier society.