Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The extinctions of individual flora and fauna is said to be the most foremost environmental challenge encountering our contemporary society. While acknowledging the detrimental repercussions of biodiveristy loss, my stance leans towards the belief that climate change and plastic pollution hold more substantial adverse consequences.

There are valid reasons why some individuals opine that saving individual species should be the main focus of environmental protection. First, the demise of a single plant or animal can disrupt vital nutrient cycles and food chains, impacting the survival and interactions of organisms that rely on that species for sustenance or ecological function. Additionally, biodiversity loss can hurt human livelihoods and income, particularly in communities relying on specific plants or fish to earn a likelihood. Although efforts have been made, including breeding programs and stringent anti-poaching laws, progress in conservation remains a work in progress. These rationales manifest themselves starkly that the disappearance of such species spell trouble for biodiversity and the well-being of those directly dependent on these ecosystems.

However, I contend that climate change and plastic pollution deserve more of our attention. Regarding climate change, evidence for this can be witnessed in melting ice caps, shrinking glaciers, rising sea levels, and extreme weather conditions that have done a great disservice to human life and wildlife habitat. With regard to plastic pollution, excessive amounts of plastic waste dumped on the ground or in the ocean are another important issue. There has been blanket coverage of birds and other animals dying gruesome deaths through being trapped in plastic bags. Worse still, sea creatures can ingest this plastic and some are later consumed by humans, resulting in human potential health hazards in later life.

In conclusion, the loss of certain species of flora and fauna is alarming, but I do not agree that it is the leading cause for concern as we have other more significant problems like climate change and plastic waste.