Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some people that the extinction of some breeds of plants and animals is the primary concern of our environment while others think that there are other environmental problems which supersede these problems.I think issues such as deforestation and global warming are more alarming.This essay will discuss both views and provide an opinion as well in the end.

A wide variety of plants and animals have proved beneficial for the country since time long.First of all,wide species of plants and animals attract tourists from all over the world thus boosting the country’s economy.For instance,Indonesia is well known for its diverse species of animals which have made it one of the most preferred tourist destination. Moreover,to preserve these species many national parks,biosphere reserves and protected areas have been developed which give employment to a large number of people.Thus some people think that a reduction in the number of these species might be a serious problem.

On the other hand, some environmental problems which are of major concern are increasing global temperature and the widespread cutting of trees.Recently,there has been a significant increase in the use of cars, refrigerators , air conditioners etc. ,which emit harmful gases in the environment, causing an abrupt rise in the temperature of the earth.For example, the melting of glaciers and rising sea level are effects of the increase in temperature of the earth.In addition,trees provide us with oxygen and forests serve as the home for many animals.But the clearing for trees and forests for industrial purposes is causing the death of many animals.To illustrate, a recent survey from the United Nations has confirmed that the increase in death of animals over the world is mainly because of the clearing of forests.These issues have dire consequences on the environment and are thus considered important by some people.

To conclude,although the loss of species of flora and fauna have serious effects on humans, environmental issues such as global warming and deforestation should be considered significant.The rapid increase in sea level over the years and threats to human life has proved the importance of these problems.