Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

According to some individuals, the loss of particular species of flora and fauna is considered as the main environmental problem because it destroys the cycle of food chain and others say that there are more important environmental problems. I agree with the other people and consider Global warming as the main environmental problem.

On the one hand, due to the loss of plants and animals the food cycle are being disturbed. As different species are interrelated and depends upon each other for their livelihood. If one species gets extinct than the other that depends upon it would not survive and as a result there would be imbalance in the ecosystem. For instance, different marine animals like blue whale, mainly depends upon krills for food, however if krills become extinct than the different marine animals would not survive.

On the other hand, there are more serious problems like Global warming which is emerging because of human negligence. I consider it as the vital problem because various big problems like deforestation, pollution, Industrialization collectively males it one large problem that is Global warning. It not only destroys a particular species but the whole organisms on earth. It has potential to wipe out all the life existing in our planet. So, if the temperature starts to increase than every habitat of different species would be destroyed. For example, a recent study found that due to rise in temperature, glaciers are melting at a faster rate than ever before . So, I agree that there are more serious problem like Global warming.

In conclusion, destruction of particular species of plants and animals species is one of the important problem as it disbalance the food cycle but there are other problems that are more serious to discuss about such as Global warming.