Some people think that climate change could have a negative effect on business. Other people think that climate change could create more business opportunities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought holds that business can be negatively affected due to climate change, while others believe that this phenomenon is likely to create opportunities to benefit the business. While climate change such as global warming does open some doors for certain fields, it also prevents a variety of companies from growing.

On the one hand, it is understandable for some individuals to believe that climate change can be the road opener opportunity for some companies. This is because the rise in the temperature can raise the demands for electronic devices, which benefits many electronic companies. For example, when the climate is becoming hotter and hotter, residents tend to buy more cool off devices such as air conditioners, and refrigerators. This potentially boosts the income of those corporations. Moreover, such global warming can deeply affect the consumption of the consumptable product because citizens often buy food due to the weather conditions. To illustrate, when the temperature is high they usually crave for chill products such as ice creams, cold buckwheat noodles,… rather than spicy or hot products. This unintentionally benefits some groups of companies which majored in cold food.

On the other hand, the drawbacks climate change brings to the business is clear for many reasons. Initially, climate change is the cause for diverse natural disasters, namely typhoons, harsh weather,and tropical storms… All of these contribute as a major factor to the loss of agriculture business. As an illustration, a company which possesses mass lands used for crops and farming can be devastated by a typhoon. Furthermore, businesses related to tourism also experience the same fate when natural disasters due to climate change are a typical reason for the decline in the number of tourists in some nations. Take Japan for example, which is famous for earthquakes and tsunamis, a large number of tourists are worried for their safety so they decide not to go there because how would they react if there were a tsunami suddenly appeared.

In conclusion, it is clear that climate change does offer merits for businesses in some particular fields. Nevertheless, it also causes a big problem for many companies which depend on the weather conditions to develop. So we can acknowledge that climate change is a two-edge knife which offers both harm and good.