Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources.

It is proposed that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians, whereas others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. While I acknowledge that this idea could be beneficial in some ways, I strongly disagree with providing public money to artists for several reasons.

On the one hand, many people believe that governments should financially support creative artists because this can motivate them to perform better in their fields. For example, nowadays there are many talented musicians around the world, yet they cannot develop their careers due to the lack of financial support. As a result, gifted singers and painters may not reach their full potential. From this perspective, funding is extremely important as it allows artists to improve the quality of their work and makes it easier for them to continue their creative activities.

Despite these arguments, I firmly believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources rather than public money. First and most importantly, governments should prioritise supporting nature and the environment. In some countries today, there are very few trees, which directly affects air quality and people’s health. Switzerland, for instance, has a large number of forests, and as a result the air is clean and people get sick less often. For this reason, I would prefer to allocate financial support to environmental protection rather than to artists.

Moreover, governments should invest more in education. If the quality of education is high, the country will naturally develop. South Korea and Singapore are strong examples of this; thanks to their continuous investment in education, they are now among the most developed nations in the world. Therefore, spending money on students and the education system is more beneficial for society than providing financial support to musicians or painters.

In conclusion, although government funding can help creative artists such as painters and musicians, I strongly believe that public money should be spent on more essential sectors. Therefore, the government should prioritise the environment and education rather than supporting artists financially.