Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued whether students should be separated according to their genders or being able to interact with peers of the opposite sex would be more beneficial for them. This essay agrees with the latter opinion since while single-gender schools grant students a better environment to devote to their studies, they also take away from them the chance to learn how to behave in front of the other gender.

On the one hand, schools with only male or female students are ideal places to develop a student’s academic ability. The reason is that most of the problems a typical student has to cope with in his or her daily life are related to the opposite sex. Having to deal with these issues not only puts the students under pressure but also takes away from them a huge amount of time to find appropriate solutions. Thus, it hinders their study. For example, a high schooler in a normal school might set his eyes on a classmate as a potential partner, which then leads to him spending hours a day trying to get her attention. This phenomenon does not happen in single-gender schools, thus these schools are more efficient for educational purposes.

On the other hand, ordinary schools give students opportunities to gain experience in interacting with people of the opposite sex. This is crucial since our society is not single gender, and it is necessary to be able to work with anyone you meet. Without this ability, you not only limit your future growth but also make it harder to find a suitable partner as you tend to neglect people of the other gender. For instance, research found that people who attended single-gender schools tend to stay single for much longer, compared to people who graduated from ordinary schools.

In conclusion, while the existence of schools with students of a single gender encourages teenagers to totally focus on learning, it might affect their capacity to join hands with others and work together.