Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are some individuals who are of the opinion that, it is more advantageous to participate in team

sports such as cricket, football, while others argue that individual sports like table tennis, chess are more beneficial. There are certainly merits on both sides of the argument, but I am of the opinion that individual sports are more beneficial.

Single

player games like the the 100 meters sprint and swimming are the most prestigious events of the Olympics and generally get the highest ad and sponsorship deals, so from a monetary point of view, they are more beneficial. Athletes also get far better recognition in

single – player sports, which can be leveraged to get better sponsorship deals. The five highest earning athletes of 2022 were all people who participated in individual sports. Additionally,

sportsman’s of many individual sports, such as chess, golf, also have longer professional careers.

On the other hand, team sports are overall more popular across the world. The top three most viewed sports in the world are all team sports. The most watched TV event is the football World Cup final 2022, viewed by over two billion people world wide. But, since the prize

money and sponsorship revenue is divided and distributed amongst all

team members, each team sports player earns less as compared to earnings from an individual sports player.

In conclusion, there are many benefits of participating in sports, such as

fame, pride of representing one’s own nation, but when we look at purely financial rewards, individual sports are more beneficial than team sports.