Some people think that language should be taught in small classes, while other people think the number of students in a language class does not matter. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some individuals believe that small classes should be used for teaching languages, while others argue that the size of language class does not impact profoundly on learning process. Although I agree more with the former opinion, both of these views will be discussed in this essay.

There are many factors contributing to why small classes are better options for learning and teaching languages. As in order to receive the better outcomes or performance after learning, especially for speaking skills, language requires many practices, compared to other fields of learning. This leads to why interactions between teachers and students play an important role in this process. However, a large size of classes usually pose challenges for teachers to provide enough practices and care for each students. Additionally, due to lack of time, teachers also cannot fully control the class, as well as cannot focus on specific weakness of their students, resulting in less effective learning compared to smaller classes. Consequently, in order to achieve a more effective performance, language should be taught in small classes.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why the number of students in a language class is not important. Since learning language needs much time and efforts, besides learning at classes, self-studying is also crucial for learning a new language. In other words, without any practices at home, studying in a small classes, with fully support from teachers, is not likely to produce the most effective outcomes. Thus, the size of a language class is not as vital as efforts and time that students spend through learning process.

In summary, both of these opinions hold merits. While small classes can ensure more interactions and support from teachers, which can lead to better outcomes, the size of classes is not as important as people consider, because self-studying may solve the problems of studying in larger classes. However, I believe that language should be learnt in a small class.