Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

One of the contemporary society’s challenges is decreasing the car crushes occurence . What is more effective: to dramatically increase fines for the offences, or is it better to advance security measures of the driving safety related environment. I believe that fines, however high raised, won’t make any substantial contribution to solving the problem and this essay is devoted to the purpose of proving that point.

To begin with, i have to offer only one, but unequivocal argument. The punishment never actually prevented crimes, taking into account historical facts such as cutting off limbs for acts of stealing, or beheading for violent crimes with victims. The mankind throughout the history has been lessening punishments, showing more compassion to the offenders and, in case of driving violations, contradicting it seems unnatural.

Therefore, the most practical approach to decreasing the rate of the accidents and the inflicted damage, financial or personal, is to devise and implement a number of measures making the car crush virtually impossible, or minimazing the consequences, if the prevention is impossible. The list of Northern EU countries managed to adopt mentioned measures, which proved themselves tremendously successful, leaves no doubts, if refer to the statistics.

To conclude, i would like to empthesize that accidents avoided is always better than cope with the aftermaths. The only result of the financial punishment for such violations will be the increased income of the Federal budget, no deaths is prevented, no health is preserved. So, the only viable solution, i presume, the problem has, it to zero up the chances of people being morbidly injured.