Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the increasing number of accident on the weekends, whether is better to rise the current legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes is often a heat debate. While I agree with the idea that see the young more dangerous than the aged people on the street, I strongly disagree with the given statement because I believe that it is not the only the age the cause of many cars and motorbikes accidents. The government could take different measures to address this problem, such as limitating the horse power of the cars of who has been take the car license for less the three years or increasing the number of the police controlls outsite the discos.

Firstly, being young is not the problem that leads to the high reported number of accidents in the street. In fact, an eighteen years old boy or girls has all the capabilities to properly learn how to drive a car or ride a motorbike in a right and safe way. What an inexpert do not know, indepentely of his age, is how the vehicle reacts to high speeds or how many meters he, or she, can stops the car without being a danger for other drivers. As a solution, I believe that the government have to take limitations to the horses power of the cars of who has being possessing a license for less than three years. During this time the driver has the time to make experience and to fully understand the phisich of driving a car or riding a motorbike.

Furthermore, another serious problem is the abuse of alchool or drugs in the discos. Unfortunately this is a social issue that do not depend on the people age, so increasing the legal age for driving or riding do not address the major problem of the accidents in the street. More and more police controlls should be present in the strees, especially during the weekend, when it is more likely for people abusing alchool and drugs. A high probability to be controlled by a policeman could leads to a higher level of attention on people, that surely will avoid to drive down alchool effects.

In conclusion, increasing the legal age fro driving a car or riding a motorbike it would not address the problem of accidents in the street. Rather, a controll on the features of the cars that an unexpert can drive or raising the number of controlls, could on one hand limitates the possibility of accident for losing controll of the vehicle, and on the other hand could leads to a more aware behaviour.