Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate in the community stating that the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike should be increased to enhance road safety. In this essay, I will explain on why a personally disagree to this suggestion and instead, the government to help the public raise awareness by implement strict traffic rules and heavy punishments to the violators.

The age of 18 is considered a legal age and it is accepted globally. Also, it is a preriquisite to be of legal age before you apply for a drivers license. The age of a person does not affect, neither improve the road safety issue. In my own opinion, the government should be raising awareness and implementing strict rules to avoid road accidents.

First, the traffic officers should make sure that the public knows all the traffic signages. It is very crucial since some licensed drivers do not have any idea about other different road signs. A good example to raise awareness is that since people, nowadays , are using mobile phones, they can create a website for the public to access for free and can read through on the important topics about road safety. Second, some drivers just does not follow the rules at all and it is present in some other countries. The government then should implement strict rules and heavy punishments to those who violates it.

In conclusion, increasing the minimum legal age does not really make a big impact on improving road safety and keeping away from traffic accidents. Public awareness, strict rules and regulation regarding road safety should be a priority to both the government, traffic officers and the public.