Some people think that the best way to succeed is to get a university education, while others disagree and say that it is no longer true nowadays. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Being successful is one of the primary goals of most people. According to some, getting a degree is thought to be the best way of being successful in this life while others believe that it is an outdated idea. I believe, although tertiary education has an important role in our life, it is nowadays possible to have a prosperous career without it.

Some people believe that graduating university can guarantee a job position. The primary reason is that it is risky to be an autodidact in particular fields including medicine. In such fields, university credentials are believed to demonstrate to employers that graduates have acquired certain level of knowledge and skills. In that sphere, it is vitally important to gain all the information provided in essential medicine-related books and lectures conducted by professors with extensive experience. Diplomas serve as a screening device that allows most managers or CEOs of hospitals to narrow down the applicant pool. They only hire candidates with a degree because it is highly dangerous to give an opportunity to self-learners to attend operations which may end up with fatal consequences. In such fields, university credentials give an edge to graduates of bachelor or master’s degree which may be the beginning of a prosperous future career.

Conversely, others consider that it is not a must to be a university graduate to have a flourishing career. Currently, it is possible to master all the essential skills to become professionals in modern jobs such as web-designing, trading and social media marketing by attending vocational training that last between 6 months and at most a year. Having finished the whole course, majority of them earn their first 10000 dollars in the initial year of their working career, which is followed by a significant increase till 100000, if not a million, dollars. Jake Paul can be a case in point, as soon as he finished a video-editing course which took three months, he began uploading comedy videos and skits on his YouTube channel in 2013, after which he began gaining a massive number of followers. He currently makes millions of dollars on a monthly basis.

Moreover, I also believe that there are a number of opportunities to find our path to success apart from getting a degree. The availability of online education gives an access to various subjects and we can simply learn our major that can be a bridge to a professional career. Take being a language teacher as an example, having finished Korean language and TOPIC course, it is possible to teach Korean language to students either at university or language academy and get a lucrative salary. In our era, it is unnecessary to spend four or five years at university to become a professional worker, because of which, I think, getting a university diploma is not the best way to succeed.

In conclusion, while in particular fields such as medicine, it is crucial to have a degree to begin a successful career, I believe, nowadays graduating university is not an essential ingredient of success. Because of vocational training and online courses, it is possible to gain all the necessary information to become professionals in this or that field in shorter period of time, which can make people successful.