Some people think that the government should provide free education at every level. However, some say that individuals should pay for their university education. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, there are two different opinions about free education for students. Some people believe that students should pay for university education, while others argue that it should be free. Let’s try to discuss both views.

People who believe that higher education should be paid for by students often discuss the country’s economy. For developing countries, fully free education can be a complicated decision because they do not have sufficient financial resources. Moreover, not every student deserves to study for free. Some of them do not understand what responsibility means. Not every student would attend classes regularly.

On the other hand, a lot of talented people around the world are not allowed to study, because they cannot pay for university. That might be unfair if wealthy but untalented students are able to study while a person from a poor family cannot attend university because of a lack of resources. Probably, someone could say that poor students can find work and pay for university with their salary. However, not everyone can do all these things while they are studying. If it is a stressful course, for instance, medicine or law, young people just cannot waste time at work. Future doctors and lawyers should spend more time in the library and practice in classes. In addition, not all universities and governments have scholarship programs.

In my opinion, higher education should be free for everyone. Equal access to university ensures social mobility and gives talented students the opportunity to succeed regardless of their financial background. Education should depend on ability and motivation, not on family income.