Some people think that the government should provide free education at every level. However, some say that individuals should pay for their university education. Discuss both views and give your opinion

University education plays an important role when it comes to enhancing students’ knowledge and nation’s global competitiveness in long-term. Although arguments have arisen whether it should be free for everyone or not, in my opinion, university education should be provided for everyone without demanding payments from students.

Many people insist that students should pay for their own university course. If students do not pay, government will have to allocate more budget to run university. For example, cost for maintaining university facilities, salaries for professors, and extra funding for research programs. As a result, tax rate will be higher to fulfil these extra costs, every people in society will have to bear higher tax burden.

Conversely, other people think that free education should be provided for everyone. Most of the students are unable to fund tuition fees for themselves, and they often rely on student loans. Moreover, expensive university fees raise barriers to entry for the students who have enough quality, but insufficient financial support. In the long term, this will slow down nation’s innovation as there will be fewer students attending university. For example, Germany is providing free university education for every student, including foreign students. As result, Germany developed world-leading manutacturing, medical technology. Compared with other conturies that do not support free education, Germany gains higher long-term beneifts.

Therefore, I think university education should be provided for every member of the society no matter the age, gender, and financial condition. Although it will require a high initial costs, benefit will outweigh the cost in long-term.