Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on (có ảnh hưởng tiêu cực) young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The extensive use of computers and mobile phones has transformed how people communicate, particularly young people. While some argue that depending heavily on these modern devices has detrimental effects on reading and writing skills. It is true that technology negatively affects reading and writing skills, however, its potential benefits could not be denied.

Firstly, excessive reliance on digital communication might lead to a decline in traditional literacy skills. For example, young people often use texting and social media platforms, which allows them to use shorthand, slang, and abbreviations. As the result, that weaken their knowledge of standard grammar, spelling, and vocabulary. Secondly, using electronic devices to surf social networks frequently makes it difficult for us to focus on things that require high concentration. Social networking sites provide news in summary as photos or short videos that only last from 10 to 20 seconds. Consequently, the brain receives information aimlessly, and over time the brain cannot concentrate on reading a book or simply watching a movie.

On the other hand, the use of electronic devices also brings numerous positive points to improve reading and writing skills. Firstly, technology can also enhance literacy by providing a variety of reading materials. The large number of apps, websites, and e-books help readers easily access online books thus, young people and others explore different genres and topics. Secondly, the global network of computers support people from different countries around the world to connect with each other. Thanks to messenger and video call applications, friends or relatives far from home communicate with family regardless of geographic distance.

In conclusion, although the increasing use of computers and mobile phones can indeed have some negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills, it offers promising opportunities for the development of these skills for everyone. The key lies in finding a balance between technology and tradition to foster comprehensive communication abilities in people.