Some people think that the main goal of school should be making children into responsible citizens and good workers, rather than benefitting them as individuals.

The role of schools in shaping the future generation has been a subject of debate for decades. While some argue that schools should primarily focus on moulding children into responsible citizens and productive workers, others claim that the individual development of students should take precedence.

There is merit in the belief that schools should prioritise instilling qualities that contribute to aspects of citizenship and work. Good education plays a pivotal role in cultivating a sense of civic responsibility, fostering values such as honesty, empathy, and social awareness. Promoting these values is clearly desirable as they could perhaps reduce social issues, such as crime and anti-social behaviour. Moreover, a workforce consisting of diligent and productive individuals drives economic growth and prosperity, again an important benefit for all.

However, focusing solely on societal benefits neglects essential aspects of child development. Young children these days appear to be experiencing higher levels of mental health, such as depression and eating disorders, meaning it is critical to do what is necessary to help each child feel confident within themselves and able to cope with the world we live in today. Schools should, therefore, strive to create an environment that encourages self-discovery and personal growth. Furthermore, personal fulfilment leads to happier, more engaged citizens who are more likely to participate actively in society without schools having to specifically set out to achieve this.

In conclusion, while the goal of schools should indeed involve shaping responsible citizens and productive workers, this objective should not overshadow the significance of individual development. Balancing both aspects ensures that students not only contribute positively to society but also experience personal growth and fulfilment.