Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that zoos are inhumane and should be removed, while others support the idea that it will be straightforward to protect creatures by building zoos. While the development of breeding programs contributes to the preservation of endangered creatures, I believe that poor conditions in captivity exacerbate the existence of zoos. Since the animals are isolated from nature due to captivity, it is not worth keeping them in zoos.

To expand upon this, because of some projects to help endangered species proliferate, their population increases substantially. Pandas, which were considered endangered species, were saved from becoming extinct by these projects. On the other hand, a significant percentage of zoo shelters have animals cramped in cages, providing inadequate space for them to live comfortably and behave naturally. Even though they previously lived in a natural environment to which they were accustomed, as a result of displacement, they tend to be distressed and depressed, leading to a loss of appetite.

To give an example from my own experience, when I went to the zoos, I was upset to witness the poor conditions where lions were pacing up and down in narrow cages. Although zoos could secure animals, especially endangered ones, it is still not worth doing this since they are in need of a natural environment.