Some people think the money spent on developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that a number of people believe that an unjustifiable amount of money is allocated for improving space exploration technologies, and I completely agree with their opinion stating that those funds could be invested in some more productive projects.

On one hand, for several reasons, the positive outcomes of spending large of money on developing space programs are not significant enough to justify that expenditure. Firstly , there is no any guarantee that those expensive space technological projects can achieve any breakthrough. In fact, there are a lot of failed projects in this field during the past years that wasted financial resources. Secondly, even if a technological development pertatining to space science become achieved, this cannot have any profound impact on human’s quality of life since the majority of them are dealing with some basic survival needs like housing, food and health care. Finally, there is always a great possibility of disastrous accidents while working on space-related projects which can cost people’s lives.

On the other hand, in the contemporary era, there are many other more important objectives, which can be fufilled by dedicating enough money. First of all, in the post-COVID-19 pandemic era, the majority of countries are facing a pressing inflation rate in the housing and food markets which are affecting people devastatingly. Hence, it is more reasonable to allocate budgets to make affordable residential places and subsidizing food market to reduce poverty among humans instead of squandering money on space technology improvement. Furthermore, nowadays, there is a great potential of “World War 3” as a result of international conflicts around the world. Thus, countries should take this probable danger into account, and spend their funds on developing their defensive military technologies to protect their lands in the up-coming wars.