Some people think the money spent on developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that spending money on the development of space exploration technology is unnecessary, as this funding could be used in other ways that would be more beneficial. From my perspective, I partly agree with this view.

There are several reasons why funding should be allocated to other fields, instead of space. First, as space is faraway and takes lots of time to explore, spending money on solving current problems would be more advantageous. In other words, phenomenon such as hunger or health crises should be totally eliminated before we continue to explore space. As a result, government funding would be spent to better the lives of citizens, instead of being wasted on spacecrafts and satellites. Moreover, as an extraordinary amount of money is spent of space exploration, less funding would be used to develop other fields such as education. Consequently, the curriculum would not keep up with the development of society, lowering the quality of students.

Despite these reasons, space exploration also has some advantages. First, the ability to reach other planets creates a safety net for humankind, in case the Earth is damaged and unhabitable. Spending money on this field would help us get closer to migrating to these planets, expanding the influence of human beings. A relevant example is SpaceX, a company which focuses on space exploration and colonization, with an emphasis on Mars. This corporation would benefit greatly if the government was funding it.

In conclusion, while some people maintain that the exploration of space is not important and therefore money should not be spent on it, I only partly agree with this as space exploration also brings some benefits.