Some people think the money spent on developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The substantial share of the national budget is expended on space research and many would argue that there are more practical ways of investing this money. Although contributing to the construction of public infrastructure can confer immediate benefits, I believe that developing technology for cosmos is a necessity, as humankind already uses multiple inventions from space industry.

The reason why many consider exorbitant expenditure on the space research as unjustifiable is that they hold a view that such an investment does not yeild tangible results here on Earth. Therefore, building medical and educational facilities as well as systems of road links seem to be a better alternative than expenses channeled to the industry which caters the needs of a few astronauts. According to the statistics, in 2023 the USA allocated around 200 billion dollars to space programs, while the average cost of a fully equipped hospital does not exceed 200 million dollars. However, I am of the opinion that a massive outlay on space studies is vital, as it may result in marked improvement of living conditions of the broader populace.

Another issue to take into account is that many are unaware of the fact that inventions intended initially for spacemen are now widely enjoyed by an average person. Pillows made of memory foam, camera phones, GPS, tap water filters, cordless tools, to name but a few, are familiar objects which were specifically designed for space travel but ended up in regular households. Thereby, further funding into new materials and novel technology can pave the way for potential breakthroughs, which can be advantageous for people around the globe.

In conclusion, despite the fact that many oppose directing finances into space research, I strongly support it for potential benefits humans can derive from it.