Some people think the money spent on developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the age of economic boom, there has been an emergence of wealthy nations investing in the exploration of the universe. However, it also results in a matter of growing concern about the benefits of this investment. This essay justifies my disapproval of spending money on space exploration.

Firstly, it is more wasteful to use money for space exploration than solving poverty. Many people are still struggling with taxes and bills; besides, some individuals are in poverty-stricken conditions with the scarcity of basic survival needs. As a result, the budget used for studying the universe is less effective than enhancing the living standards of a huge number of people. This could be demonstrated by the case of African countries, which have a high rate of destitution due to irregular climate patterns and harsh weather conditions.

Secondly, it can be observed that the benefits of investing money on space studies pale in comparison to that of spending on dealing with social evil. There has been an increasing crime rate in both developed and developing nations in the modern age. With the huge amount of money, it is expected to be more effective to elaborate on the crime rate reduction compared to the discovery of planets in space. A typical case in point is India, which has an alarming rate of people defying the laws. The considerable amount of money invested in space exploration can help confront this serious problem.

On the other hand, opponents of this idea may claim that discovering space can facilitate the chance for livable planets in the future, allowing us to inhabit in case the Earth is heavily polluted. However, it is worth pointing out that the progress of space exploration is still too slow due to the diversity of available planets. Despite state-of-the-art technological advancements in recent years, we have not accomplished any substantial goal in the way to a livable plant. Take, for instance, Mars. Having the highest possibility of being inhabitable, we are still not able to live on this planet on the grounds of its cold temperature and its geographical features. Therefore, I maintain that we can reap more benefits of investing in other matters of concern instead of space exploration.

In conclusion, I strongly advocate that it is more beneficial to spend money on other issues than allocating budget for space discoveries. What is also important here is that the budget spent on existing problems should be effective in order to fund space exploration for the sake of humanity.