Some people think the money spent on developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

ome people believe that there are far better ways to spend the money that is allocated to space exploration. I completely agree with this statement and feel that protecting the environment and ensuring that every person on earth has a decent standard of living are far more important issues that need addressing.

Firstly, not all countries have space exploration programs. Only countries with huge economies, such as America, Russia, China, and Japan, can afford to fund such programs. However, the money that is spent on these programs is considerably large and could be far better used for other purposes, in particular, addressing environmental issues. It is undeniable that humans are polluting the planet and destroying the environment at a rapid rate, and there seems to be no real action in place to prevent a global environmental catastrophe from occurring in the near future. The billions of dollars that are being spent on space exploration every year could be used to fund programs aimed at restoring the environment so that future generations have a healthy and safe planet to live on.

Furthermore, while there are millions of people around the world who do not have enough food to eat each day or a decent home to live in, spending billions of dollars on space exploration programs seems to be ludicrous. Instead, these billions of dollars could make a huge difference in the lives of millions by funding programs designed to help educate, feed, and house the disadvantaged, impoverished, and sick people of the world, which would be far more significant than the benefits that may be acquired from space exploration. We could spend billions of dollars and many years exploring space but gain nothing from it, while in the same period of time that money could improve the lives of millions of people.

In conclusion, I believe that although there may be some benefit in space exploration, until the issues of the environment and poverty on the planet are completely addressed, funding for space exploration should be absolutely minimised