Some people think the money spent on developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that the investment in the development of exploring the universe is unjustified and there are a lot of useful ways to allocate this fund. I totally agree with this notion because this financial resource should be spent more on pressing problems related to poverty, illiteracy and environmental pollution.

Firstly, poverty can be improved considerably thanks to additional government funds. The fact is that poverty is one of the most urgent problems in the world, especially in developing countries. For instance, hundreds of millions of hungry African people are facing food insecurity, to whom cosmos exploration is a luxurious and utopian thing. As a result, the government should invest more on poverty alleviation programs instead of putting a large amount of money into inaccessible astronautics programs.

Secondly, it is necessary to allocate more capital resources to improve illiteracy and facilitate educational development. In practice, achievers in all fields are highly talented and have favourable learning conditions. Therefore, if the government wants their country to be strong and prosperous with many gifted people, the first step should be to eliminate illiteracy and enhance learning opportunities. However, this process needs to be completed with lots of money and great effort.

Last but not least, a proportion of investments in exploring space is advisable to spend on dealing with environmental problems. In fact, climate change is becoming more and more severe, which may result from daily activities, industrious projects and even from machinery engineering processes serving the universal investigation. Hence, it is essential to tackle all environmental issues, protect the environment and conserve it for future generations.

In conclusion, I firmly advocate this sentiment due to the contribution to eliminating poverty and illiteracy as well as solving ecological challenges. The government should have social policies to distribute financial funds for urgent issues appropriately rather than assigning a great deal of money to overreaching projects.