Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some say that these are the best people to talk to school students about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some individuals are of the opinion that raising awareness of crime and the dangers of them for students by speeches from people who used to be in prison but now being a good person is the best way. Personally, I partially agree with this statement based on several reasons that are illustrated in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some benefits that an ex-convict’s conversation can bring. First, had been in prison for a period, they can provide powerful real-life lessons. When a person makes a heavy mistake which is illegal, they have to take responsibility for their activities and suffer punishments by law. For instance, former prisoners could share their crime, its danger potentials and the unforgettable experiences of unfree days at bridewell. Second, speeches by ex-prisoners are trusted and those can educate or deter students about committing a crime. Normally, we just listen about social evils and the results of them through teachers, parents or someone who didn’t use to be in prison so that having a talk with ex-convicts is more persuasive.

On the other hand, speeches from people who used to be in prison do not always help prevent students from crime. To begin with, just talking does not bring a real experience for them. Pupils now study in a hands-on educational environment, they have chances to access everything they learned so that this statement is not the best way to tell them about crime dangers. Furthermore, reformed prisoners give a talk to school students that do not help address social crime issues. Life goes on after speeches and the one thing they can help the community is raise awareness for students.

In conclusion, there are several perspectives around the statement that the best way to tell pupils about the dangers of committing a crime is having a talk with ex-convicts. I agree that it is advantageous in a few aspects but sometimes this way is not completely effective for the community.