Some say that music, art, and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe art-related subjects are as important as others in the school curriculum, particularly for primary school children. Personally, I agree with this view because it may be very advantageous to enhance students’ performance in other subjects.

On the one hand, creative subjects can be seen as unnecessary for students because they may not provide future prospects. Governments now allocate more funds to science-related and computer-based domains, which means that people who choose music, art, and drama as their majors are likely to suffer from joblessness or poverty in their adult lives. This is because only a few of them can be successful singers or actors like Eminem or Tom Cruise, in this highly competitive world. This is why many high school and primary school students feel like they have to pay more attention to the exact sciences instead of creative subjects.

On the other hand, art-related subjects can boost students’ productivity in other domains. Drawing pictures, singing a song, or playing a concert may create the opportunity for individuals to reduce depression and better focus on their important tasks, as such activities do not require difficult tasks and are enjoyable. Many high school students already concentrate on their vocational goals, so they may not need to do so. However, young and more playful primary school children tend to struggle to learn the basics of various subjects, particularly to pay attention to them and to reduce stress that can greatly hamper educational development. This is the reason why art-related subjects are as important as others for children to enhance their efficiency in all fields.

In conclusion, although music, art, and drama may be seen as unimportant for the reason stated above, they play a crucial role in individuals’ overall performance.