Some students tend to play computer games rather than do sports. Why is this? What can be done to tackle the problem?

With the rapid development of technology, the question of overusing computers has become increasingly important. The students’ tendency of playing digital games rather than doing sports or going outside is still the essential issue for several years.

It is known that nowadays computer games have become a part of students’ lives. The major factors contributing to this are availability, lack of physical obstacles and manageable results of computer games. For instance, certain sports require special equipment and wardrobe that are expensive; it is necessary to find a professional coach and spend all the time doing it without any confidence that you can succeed. At the same time for computer games students only need a computer, therefore most of them tend to be online.

One possible solution to tackle this problem is to draw students’ attention by developing university sport clubs. The more varieties of sports there will be, the more students will find what attracts and fits them. This solution may not completely change students’ preferences, but it may attract those who wanted to do sport but did not have the opportunity, because if they can do it in the university, they will not have to waste time commuting or to purchase sport equipment. Furthermore, some of them can discover new abilities, emotions and advantages of doing sports and eventually forget about games.

In conclusion, computer games will always attract young people with their accessibility and the ability to upgrade your game level without leaving home. However, students should not forget doing sports because this is better for their health and strength and universities have the opportunity to attract more students into sports by creating different clubs affordable for everyone.