Some students work while studying. This often results in lacking time for education and constantly feeling under pressure. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

The time has changed and so are the situations around each one of us. The priorities for many and responsibilities for lot of people have increased over the period of time. Not just for adults but for children as well the scenarios have changed a lot. As we can see, nowadays, students prefer working part-time while they are completing their education. The reason might be many like for few the financial condition plays a vital role in this, for supporting the family financially there are lot of kids out there who prefer working part-time while completing their course. There might be few who prefer doing a job also because they want to upgrade their resume, so including a part-time opportunity like having a course related job can be a boon.

As having a job while studying can have lot of pro’s but they also contain lot of con’s in it. For instance, neglecting health can be a serious concern, as working in shifts may lead to less amount of sleep, extra working hours, improper diet, which might effect the health in future. If someone is not able to manage both studies and work, it might result negatively in any one of the thing. As the saying goes, everything has a right time, similarly just focusing particularly on studies has it’s own time and also focusing just on work also has it’s own specific timing. Mixing both of them at the same time will cause poor results at the end. But the major reason for students opting for jobs is due to increasing competition in the society. The increasing pressure for having a good CV or resume is also one of major point for this. Moreover, doing good in life and having self doubts is the valid concern for lot of kids nowadays. There are universities who have added part-time jobs related to specific courses in their curriculum, which is quite unnecessary according to me.

These raising concerns should be handled within time. For that the government should also take certain matters in their hands. There are many ways how the government could be involved. To name a few, introducing a law mentioning a legal age for working can be an advantage. But for children having a poor financial background, support is also required for those, by reducing the college fees or introducing different scholarships under government acts. Like Recently, India has amended a law under right to education for girls, were the school fees for a girl child is made free. Similarly, a lot countries can follow the same. For the compensation of these, government could generate the revenue from other sectors specifically from tourism, goods and services etc.

Not just the government, but, the universities should also help out the children who are not able to handle this growing competitive pressure. Reducing the syllabus or changing the pattern of subjects accordingly, such that, there should be no compulsion for having a part-time job, such ideas should also be considered by the colleges. Lastly, having a proper support from dependents, and interference of parents on such topics will only help the kid to succeed in life.