Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time ad attention to studying for a qualification

It is debated whether students should divide their time between their majors and pursue unrelated interests or prioritize only their qualifications. Some undergraduates consider specializing in one subject the key to success. However, I believe students should gain knowledge from various areas to prepare themselves for the future.

On the one hand, learning different subjects cultivates cognitive abilities and a balanced education. Breaking the limits of learning, individuals gain creativity and critical thinking, which are highly valued skills. Some research has revealed that people with broader education tend to have desirable careers, as they have the power to import new ideas into their spheres and, therefore, make breakthroughs. Also, it is evident that people like well-rounded partners, so learning different subjects can promote healthier relationships. Thus, even if other subjects are not directly applicated to work, a person can improve his self-esteem and personal life.

On the other hand, those who argue for one area believe in the significance of specialization. It is not a phenomenon that learning different subjects is time-consuming and provides a lot of distractions from the qualification. Thus, some undergraduates prioritize their chosen subject to gain success in their future careers. For instance, a student mastering chemical engineering will be a competitive candidate for a higher and better-paid post if he acquires all the theoretical foundation from his lectures and practices. Any diversions that distract the focus can diminish career-starting potential. However, narrow-focused specialists can lose their job prospects with the advancement of technology. They will not have the possibility to switch to another specialization, whereas well-rounded people can easily change their main subject.

In conclusion, although prioritizing one subject provides profound knowledge, possessing a breadth of knowledge is far more valuable. I believe the range of knowledge serves as the foundation for a more creative and fulfilled life.