Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time ad attention to studying for a qualification

Some undergraduates desire to take up courses in addition to their main subjects, while others consider focusing only on their qualification more important. Despite the fact that concentration only on the main lessons can help students to become a professional specialist, I strongly believe that learning other subjects can be more profitable for finding a job in the future.

On the one hand, modern universities provide their students with only 3 or 4 years of education. For such professions as a doctor, an engineer or a lawyer this limited period of studying cannot be enough. In order not to miss anything, students usually decide to concentrate only on their qualifications. In other words, they reject taking up other courses because they are afraid of failing difficult exams and do not become the leading authorities in their fields. Following the strategy of focusing only on the most important courses, the undergraduates do not be distracted by the things that might not help them in the future and dedicate their life to mastering the future profession.

On the other hand, taking up new courses help students to achieve more skills and acquire knowledge that can be crucial in their future. For instance, nowadays, there are a lot of careers that unite different subjects together such as marketing manager and designers. Marketing used to be associated only with creating adverts, while design was always very close to art. However, with the creation of AI and the widespread of social networks, the situation has changed significantly. Modern marketing managers and designers have to apply these technologies to their work and know how to use computer programmes. Moreover, many employers are in search of specialists with a range of skills. For this exact reason the tendency of taking up more courses besides the main ones among students is becoming more popular.

All things considered, although focusing on the qualification can be more helpful for students who want to successfully pass their exams and become professional, I assume that broadening the horizons by taking up different interesting courses can be more useful for them regarding finding a job in the future.