Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time ad attention to studying for a qualification

Nowadays many universities provide students with additional opportunities concerning studying. Therefore, undergraduates can now be in two minds whether they should stick to the subjects necessary for their qualification or try others apart from the main ones. This essay argues that scholars should not turn down any opportunities and opt for supplementary subjects, too.

First of all, some students are opposed to attending extra courses because they believe they would distract their attention from the main studies. They prefer to concentrate only on subjects required by their programme. For example, an undergraduate, who is to become an ancient literature professor, they state, should not disturb himself by attending chemistry classes as there is a high risk of missing some crucial details in his official sphere of study. This opinion seems to be quite reasonable at first sight, but students, who refuse to try themselves somewhere else, except from their major studies, miss many opportunities and chances to develop in other spheres.

Secondly, it is worth mentioning that extra subjects suggested by universities these days can be extremely beneficial for the undergraduates. Despite the fact that additional subjects may not be directly connected to a qualification, they still would definitely play a great role in widening the scholars’ horizons. For instance, a student of a theatrical faculty who has taken an engineering course can use his knowledge to create various useful items for performances such as complicated decorations or other tough mechanisms. Hence, additional subjects are more likely to lead undergraduates to positive results and new openings.

In conclusion, giving all the time to studying only for a qualification narrows students’ outlooks considerably. Mastering other spheres of knowledge would be extremely advantageous and, consequently, useful for the scholars.