Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantage of spending money on space exploration?

Humanity spends tons of valuable money and resources on space exploration every year. While it can bring benefits due to scientists having more knowledge about other planets and space overall there are drawbacks, such as spending tremendous amounts of tax payers money.

The main and key advantage is knowledge humanity gets from being able to explore space. This valuable information can help us better understand our environment. Moreover, it can help us prevent some global issues from happening. For instance, when the asteroid would fall people will know about it and potentially prevent it from happening. Also the information that we get from exploring planets in our solar system and especially their climate could help us dealing with Earth changing climate.

On the other hand, there are obvious downsides of space exploration. One major disadvantage is the cost of these exploration trips and the fact that they are fully paid from the tax payers pocket. It is an issue because governments could spend these precious resources and money, for instance, to provide more aid to those who are in need. Secondly, the rockets used for exploring space cause environmental problems by polluting air with CO2. Hence, humanity hurms themselves.

Taking everything into account, there are pros like knowing more about what’s around us, and cons such as high cost and pollution caused by exploration trips. Overall, people should spend these money for prevention or solving current problems on our planet and only after this is done, we can explore space.