Stress-related illnesses are becoming increasingly common. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In the contemporary era, mental disorders that are inextricably linked to stress take a heavy toll on a great deal of the population. Modern lifestyles have paved the way for a surge in mental illnesses, provoking depression and exerting a profound influence on people’s welfare. Such a trend is detrimental for society; however, there are several solutions that can be implemented to prevent and avoid such conditions.

First and foremost, work routine is undoubtedly a major contributor to such a tendency that diminishes not only individuals’ labor but also their well-being. There are unprecedented jobs, which are indelibly pivotal for universal development; however, due to their complexity and meticulousness, people have to put in extra effort to excel in the work process and to become proficient in modern fields. Some individuals do not perceive future risks and implications as they are simply exhausted, and instead of reaping the benefits, they acquire mental disorders, such as depression or obsessive-compulsive disorder. In addition, initial stress at work can act as a deterrent to healthy relationships at home, provoking outcry and misunderstandings, and consequently, exacerbating their mental conditions.

However, such a trend can be mitigated and alleviated if the government and the population themselves become aware of dangerous consequences. Local authorities and philanthropic organizations could launch a public awareness campaign, which could foster health literacy in people and incentivize them to take thoughtful decisions regarding their work-life balance. This would not only alleviate the symptoms but also destigmatize mental illness, as a lot of individuals still consider it unacceptable and shameful. Moreover, families could visit family psychologists who could assist them to sort out unspoken emotions and lead to understanding between partners, which is crucial for their relationship and well-being.

To sum up, the modern time is the basis for stress disorders, as exhausting jobs exert a tremendous influence on people’s mental state. Individuals need to address the root cause of such a tendency and strike a work-life balance if we are to maintain a healthy and contented population.