Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Nowadays, teenagers struggle with face-to-face communication and choose online interaction. In my opinion, one of the reasons could be the effect of the COVID-19 quarantine when people did not see each other for a year. To prevent these consequences, the government should create more entertainment events for young people.

COVID-19 was a harsh time for the population all around the world, which led to teenagers’ distance now. The year of isolation created an invisible wall that prevents teenagers from communication. At that time, people had conversations on online platforms by video calls. This occasion was probably a new experience for all people and affected their normal lifestyle by changing habits and communication styles. However, after that year, many teenagers started to feel uncomfortable with real meetings and tried to avoid them by continuously using virtual contact. Researchers introduced statistics about social media use in 2019 and 2023. In 2019, its popularity was about 43%, but in 2023, it increased significantly by roughly 30%.

Although, most juveniles are not interested in-person communication, there are some solutions which may lead to an increase in live communication. The main solution is to increase the number of events aimed at for younger audiences, and that might be interesting for them to visit and relax. For instance, some musical concerts like the “RAVE” where most popular DJs are perform, attract young people with the atmosphere and a chance to meet interesting people. Therefore, with the improvement of cultural aspects, more and more teenagers can socialize.