t is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

TAKING A GAP YEAR AFTER GRADUATING SCHOOL HAS GAINED POPULARITY IN RECENT YEARS. I PERSONALLY BELIEVE THAT ITS BENEFITS IN TERMS OF CHOOSING MAJOR AND GETTING EXPERIENCE CAN OUTWEIGH THE DRAWBACKS OF THIS CUSTOM.

MANY STUDENTS MAY COME ACROSS WITH DIFFICULTIES OF CHOOSING THEIR MAJOR AT UNIVERSITY. TO START WITH THE POSITIVITIES, THE REASON FOR THIS IS THAT THERE ARE TOO MANY SUBJECTS AT SCHOOL. SO MANY PUPILS TAKE A YEAR OFF AFTER SCHOOL AND TRY TO FIND THEIR INTERESTS. THEY MAY STUDY IN COURSES OR WORK IN DIFFERENT KINDS OF SPHERES (FOR EXAMPLE, WAITERS, MARKETING MANAGERS OR JUST SALES ASSISTANTS). AS A RESULT, THEY CAN FIND THEIR DESIRED SPHERE. IN ADDITION, STUDENTS CAN GET EXPERIENCE DURING THEIR WORK LIFE AND EARN MONEY FOR THEIR TUITION FEE. AFTER A GAP YEAR, IF THEY DO NOT WANT TO STUDY, THEY CAN JUST CONTINUE TO WORK IN THEIR POSITIONS. NOT TAKING A YEAR OFF CAN CAUSE TO CHOOSE WRONG MAJOR AND TO HATE THEIR MAJOR AND FUTURE JOB.

HOWEVER, THE TREND HAS ALSO ITS NEGATIVE SIDES. FIRST AND FOREMOST, AFTER TAKING A GAP, MANY STUDENTS MAY NOT WANT TO STUDY. THIS IS BECAUSE THEY STARTED TO EARN THEIR OWN MONEY AND TO BUILD CAREER LIFE FOR THEMSELVES, BUT MANY OF THEM WORKS IN JUNIOR POSITIONS. THEY MAY NOT GET HIGH SALARY FOR HARD WORK. IF THEY DO NOT STUDY AT UNIVERSITIES, THEY WILL NOT GET ACADEMIC DIPLOMAS. AFTER GRADUATING THE UNIVERSITY, STUDENTS WILL HAVE BOTH THEORITICAL AND PRACTICAL KNOWLEDGE AND THIS CAN PROVIDE GOOD OPPORTUNITIES FOR GETTING A BETTER JOB TO THEM.

TO SUM UP, HAVING A YEAR OFF CAN BE DISADVANTAGEOUS IN SOME CASES, HOWEVER I DO BELIEVE THAT IT IS FAR MORE BENEFICIAL FOR STUDENTS BY THE SIDES OF DECIDING TO CHOOSE THEIR MAJORS AND GETTING EXPERIENCE DURING WORK.