Task 2 Traffic congestion is increasing in many cities. What are the causes and what solutions can be taken?

In the era of modernity, the high intensity of traffic has emerged as a ubiquitous phenomenon in many urban and rural area. This can be attributed to a deprivation of traffic management during rush hour and bad quality of public transportation. Nevertheless, this can be addressed by the government improving the quality of public transportation and educating people to participate in traffic more effectively.

One primary reason of the high volume of traffic is a lack of traffic control during rush hour. This is because during this time, people try to drive on high speed to get home fast. Therefore, it is very difficult for the police to fully control the traffic. Another significant cause contributing to this issue is the lack of quality of public transportation. For instance, in many nations, public transportation is too uncomfortable for the residents to use because it is very slow, but the ticket price is so expensive. As a result, many people start to use individually owned transportation for better experience in their travels.

To tackle this, it is important for the authorities to educate the residents to use transportation more effectively. They should organize campaigns to raise awareness about the risk of traffic accidents. By doing this, people can have the knowledge about controlling their driving to avoid congestion. Furthermore, the authorities should improve the quality of public transportation. A good example is the local authorities of Ho Chi Minh city in Vietnam allocating a budget on the refurbishment of public transport. As a result, they could encourage 30% of people to start using public transportation, alleviating the issue significantly.

To recapitulate, the high volume of traffic is becoming more serious in many places due to the lack of traffic control and public transportation quality. However, this can be solved if the government educate people to use transportation more efficiently and invest more on the improvement of public transportation.