The best way to provide enough homes in large cities is to build tall apartment blocks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern world, the population has had a significant rise across the world, leading to more pressure on governments to address this problem. Some people believe that building tall apartment blocks in large cities is the best way to tackle the housing shortage. In my opinion, I firmly agree with this perspective because of some reasons that are going to be presented in this essay.

On the one hand, tall apartments can result in some disadvantages. Firstly, people living on the high floors of tall flats can sometimes face damage from natural disasters or unexpected accidents. The chance of successfully evacuating tall apartments is lower than in private houses. The reason is that relief workers may have difficulties in providing relief because of height obstacles. In addition, the environment of tower blocks is usually less private compared to single houses. As a result, people who seek a tranquil residence or prefer isolation often intend to have their own houses, making the housing shortage worse.

On the other hand, living in flats brings a variety of positive impacts. One of them is a friendly atmosphere. This can bridge the gap between people of different backgrounds, helping them understand more about each other, especially in the technology-driven world where convenience from robots or social media makes face-to-face interaction less frequent. Besides, the price of flats is also more affordable, putting less pressure on people to cover the cost of living. Moreover, this kind of residence can help governments to provide enough homes for residents in large cities because it needs less space and funding but can address the housing shortage.

In sum, I believe that the advantages of tall apartment blocks can outweigh the disadvantages in both environmental and social problems.